HTML Tags' Standards Reference

© 2012, Martin Rinehart

To be precise, HTML has had only two tag standards, HTML 3.2 and HTML 4. (The latter was updated in minor ways for HTML 4.01. XHTML 1 and XHTML 1.1 incorporate the HTML 4 documents as their tag components.) In this page we use the common, imprecise standards.

HTML "Standards"


There is an "outline-numbered" table, named on_table available that lists the location in each "standard" of each HTML tag. An "outline-numbered" system is one in which 4.10 sorts after 4.9, for example.

A Micro SQL

Columns available in on_table are Tag, HTML 1, HTML 2, HTML 3.2, HTML 4.01 and HTML 5. A simple (proof-of-concept stage) SQL-like facility will report on this table. Available methods include:

Pre-Defined and DIY Reports


Feedback: MartinRinehart at gmail dot com

# # #